MB Replacement, HDD Addition

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nightscar

Dabbler
Hello Everyone,
I am relatively new to FreeNas so I apologize for my lack of knowledge.

I have had a FreeNAS running for probably close to a year now and everything was going great until my MB took a crap. Which brings me to my 1st question.
I currently have a new MB on its way, when it comes to FreeNAS is it just a matter of swapping in the new MB? Will FreeNAS pickup where it left off? Or will I have to redo my entire FreeNAS?

My 2nd question pertains to adding another HDD..
Currently I have 3 1TB HDD in my FreeNAS.. I realize its a small NAS but it suits my purpose. I was thinking about adding a 4th 1TB HDD to the mix but I am not sure if it is possible to just add in another HDD? Or will I have to wipe and redo my entire FreeNAS?
(which btw is no issue I have all data backed up on a external HDD)

Thank you for any help you can give me
Nightscar

Nick2253

Wizard
To you first question, I think it should work without problem.

This might be a good time to point out that your data (your pool) is completely separate from your OS (FreeNAS). If your OS drive dies, or you break it, etc, then your pool will be just fine. Likewise, you could remove your pool, and FreeNAS would still boot and function just fine.

To you second question, it depends on how you have your pool set up. My guess is that you currently have one three-drive RAIDZ1 vdev in your pool. If that's the case, and you want your pool to be one four-drive RAIDZ1 vdev, then yes, you'll have to wipe and redo your pool. (But again, you wouldn't have to redo everything. You'd have to reconfigure a few shares and permissions, but not everything.)