SOLVED Issues with new TrueNAS Scale install

Inxsible

Guru
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Messages
1,123
Hello,

I have TN Core installed that I have been using from many many years. I had set up ZFS replication on a Proxmox ZFS RAIDZ2 array as target. I exported the pool in the Proxmox server and then installed Scale on a different server and I imported the ZFS replication target as the pool so that I don't have to copy all the data from my CORE install. The import was successful, but the file system is read-only. I cannot change ownership of any directories or create new ones.

Researching this, I found this thread that indicates how to change it to RW : https://www.truenas.com/community/t...-and-making-the-destination-read-write.10551/

But I used the recommended install of only Admin account. So when I try to run the zfs command in the shell, it says command not found. How would I turn off the readonly flag on the pool and how would I assume root powers in the Shell if the root user password is disabled?

Thanks,
 
Last edited:

chuck32

Guru
Joined
Jan 14, 2023
Messages
623

Inxsible

Guru
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Messages
1,123
:)

No somehow the paths not set up correctly as it cannot find zfs command. I was also wondering how to get root powers using
Code:
su -
 

chuck32

Guru
Joined
Jan 14, 2023
Messages
623
I was wondering as your saw your post count after replying ;)

However command not found is the typical greeting when lacking elevated privileges that's why I didn't edit / delete my post.

Code:
admin@truenas[~]$ zfs list -t snapshot neptune/test-dataset
zsh: command not found: zfs
admin@truenas[~]$ sudo zfs list -t snapshot neptune/test-dataset
[sudo] password for admin:
NAME                                         USED  AVAIL  REFER  MOUNTPOINT
neptune/test-dataset@auto-2024-03-03_19-25   144K      -  12.9M  -
neptune/test-dataset@auto-2024-03-03_19-30   144K      -  13.1M  -
neptune/test-dataset@auto-2024-03-03_19-35   112K      -  33.5M  -
neptune/test-dataset@manual2                 112K      -   954M  -
neptune/test-dataset@auto-2024-03-03_21-22     0B      -  1.02G  -


You could also just enable the root password temporarily or (that's what I did but I barely ever need it) authenticate via ssh keys and open a ssh session as root.

If the paths are truly not setup correctly than that's above my paygrade though.
 

Inxsible

Guru
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Messages
1,123
yeah... I was thinking of enabling root password temporarily...but just wanted to make sure, because the whole Admin account thing is new in Scale and I was just wondering if I was missing something obvious.

My system is so new, that I think I am better off just re-installing and then trying to import the pool again... or simply recreating a new pool and copying over the data from my TN Core install. The TN Core will then become a backup NAS.

thanks for your help though.
 

chuck32

Guru
Joined
Jan 14, 2023
Messages
623
Just to make sure, logging in as admin, using sudo zfs with your admin account password does not work on a fresh install? Did you by any chance mess around under credentials -> local users -> admin?
1709589344607.png


If everything is set up correctly and zfs cannot be found I'd also reinstall, doesn't seem right.
 

Inxsible

Guru
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Messages
1,123
Reinstalled, re-imported the pool and all is well now. admin account can access zfs commands using sudo.

I must have dropped the ball somewhere during the previous install.
 

nabsltd

Contributor
Joined
Jul 1, 2022
Messages
133
No somehow the paths not set up correctly as it cannot find zfs command. I was also wondering how to get root powers using
Code:
su -
If you need to do a lot of things as root in a row, you can use:
Code:
sudo su -
 
Top