is my zpool in trouble? And other Questions from a Newb.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AleQQ

Dabbler
Hi all! I feel i should start with some back story for this project. (sorry in advance. After typing this i realized i should maybe be a novelist -.- I sincerely tried to google and forum search for as many answers as I could. I read the manuals, I learned a lot in the last few days, but still have some newb problems and it is ALL new territory to me.)

I'm sorta new to this whole FreeNAS thing. I've been using it for about 8 months now but have only had time to learn about the things that are failing on it or that I want to expand. :P
I read about FreeNAS while looking at a solution to alleviate my router-attached dlna problems (no surprise; they suck). The guide i read was on FreeNAS 7 and 9.x was already out, so I had some serious learning curves. I read about miniDLNA and wanted to try that (I have since moved to PLEX and it's the greatest thing I've ever ever). I originally tried to salvage an old computer from my garage to use (it was one of THOSE blogs), but after 5 hours of countless problems including not even being able to INSTALL without kernel panics, I said "Screw it!!" (with many superlatives) and jumped on New Egg and built something that was cheap (I was/am kinda broke).

So. Originally it was a budget build (pretty much completely with un-suggested hardware[i know this now]) that ran me about $300. I had a lot of experience with/building desktops and none with servers (that has changed a lot in the last 6 months). This was the original build:
Haswell Celeron Processor(then i read to not use haswell)
MSI H81M-E35 Mobo (not ECC and has a Realtek NIC)
Mushkin redline 1600MHz memory (not ECC)
A 3TB seagate backup plus drive i had lying around (USB = FAIL)
A very small microATX case with integrated PSU (purchased because small and usb3.0 for my fail drive)