SOLVED Installing FreeNAS 9.3 to Mac Pro (intel)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leum

Cadet
Good morning all, This is my first post, I've tried to find the answers myself but my Google-Fu is lacking today. I'd appreciate an assist!

I have an old FreeNAS box running 8.3 that I want to update but my hardware won't cope. As a result I've dug out a MacPro (Intel Xeon model with 12GB RAM) and tried to configure it for FreeNAS. There are plenty of guides online for this using the old .img files but nothing yet for the new ISO format 9.3 uses.

I'm a complete Mac novice but I managed to burn the ISO to CD, boot into the installer and play it over to a 4GB USB stick. Everything seemed to go well and I saw no errors but the machine won't boot into FreeNAS.

If hold down the option key to select the drive to boot from - the USB stick isn't available.

I'm beginning to wonder if this version of FreeNAS is incompatible with Mac EFI or if I somehow need to install FreeNAS using a switch that will partition the USB stick with a GUID partition (not actually sure what that is - saw it online as a possible problem).

Thanks in advance for any help!

bitsandnumbers

Dabbler
Did you try something like rEFIt to add a compatible boot loader ? I assume this is your main issue here: being able to boot from USB on a unix partition, which you mac doesn't seem to handle.

Just tell us if it solves your problem.

Envoyé de mon iPad à l'aide de Tapatalk

joeschmuck

Old Man
One thing, do not use a 4GB USB Flash drive, go get an 8GB. Some users have commented that the 4GB doesn't work on some systems yet the same model type with 8GB works.