I am a secret agent who works for 7 different governments. I need your help.

joeschmuck

Old Man
So, @Arwen already recommended what looks to be a well fitting product. Price is good. Just add a Low Power AMD AM5 CPU W/graphics (with AMD cooler like Ryzen 5 8500-G), one 16GB stick of ECC DDR5 RAM (or a 32GB stick, or multiple), one 64GB M.2 NVMe drive (for the boot drive), and two 16TB HDD, hopefully 5200/5400 RPM if you can find something slow (for heat considerations).

Link to DeskMeet physical layout: https://download.asrock.com/Manual/QIG/DeskMeet X600 Series_multiQIG.pdf

I didn't see in the user manual that the ASRock Deskmeet X600 supported PCIe bifurcation because if it supports 2x2x2x2, then you could do like me and install a four M.2 adapter card, that plus one M.2 slot extra on the motherboard would let you have five 4TB drives. If you go that route, I suggest PCIe 3.0 as 4.0 and up generate a lot of heat. But the NVMe drives should meet NVMe spec 1.4. I bought six 4TB NVMe drives for $200 each (nope not from AliExpress :tongue:). And these all had heatsinks on them (they were designed for PS5 use). NVMe is less power, less heat, quiet operation. But they do cost a little more. But five 4TB drives in a RAIDZ1, 14TB of capacity. Or there are add-on cards that hold up to10 NVMe drives, although I'd probably call it quits at six 4TB drives.

The DeskMeet is small. I have a DeskMini as my main computer these days. My beast of a machine has been retired and I'm thinking about giving it to my grandson, maybe all my old computer parts, sure would clean up some storage space.

Apollo

Wizard
I'm having second-thoughts about my "drilled-in cabinet handle". Watch from the 9:55 mark. :oops:

What you said holds even more merit now.

Coming up with a seamless "grab-and-go" NAS solution for us secret agents is harder than I thought.