how do I install phpmyadmin and mysql in my freenas server

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajames4

Cadet
I'm very new to freenas and I really don't know how to install phpmyadmin and mysql onto the freenas server and I actually need some help since I'm new and I created my first freenas on my old pc.

danb35

Hall of Famer
More specifically, it goes like this:
  • Create a jail following the manual's instructions
  • Within that jail, follow whatever guide you can find on the Internet for installing that software on FreeBSD
The second step has nothing to do with FreeNAS; the jail environment is essentially a basic installation of FreeBSD.

Why would you think a FreeNAS server would be a place that MySQL and phpMyAdmin should be installed?

ajames4

Cadet
I'm still confused about how do I install jail since I don't know about it and I need clear guidance of how to install phpmyadmin and mysql in a jail.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Other than creating the jail, which is thoroughly described in the manual, nothing about your question has anything to do with FreeNAS. A jail is a FreeBSD installation. Search the web for guides on installing this software under FreeBSD. It's highly unlikely that there are any guides for installing it under FreeNAS, and there's no reason for there to be such guides.

If you're having trouble with a specific step in the process, let us know. But "I need clear guidance" says that you haven't even tried to research the question.

ajames4

Cadet

Attachments

• jailpart1.jpg
    jailpart1.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 356
  • jailpart2.jpg
    jailpart2.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 344
  • jailpart3.jpg
    jailpart3.jpg
    101.5 KB · Views: 345
  • jailpart4.png
    jailpart4.png
    18.1 KB · Views: 422

m0nkey_

MVP
@ajames4 What you're asking is not a FreeNAS question. This is generic FreeBSD configuration. Most of the answers you're looking for can be found in the FreeBSD handbook I linked to earlier.

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek