Help Moving From Test Setup To Working Version With New Hard Drives

Status
Not open for further replies.

JonnyAlpha

Contributor
Hi;

I have been playing with FreeNAS for a little while using 3 old HDDs of varying makes and sizes. I have now acquired the actual Hard Drives for my working NAS and need some advice on making the swap.
It took me ages to get the existing shares working on my existing setup with my mixed OS network but there is nothing on the existing test setup that I haven't got elsewhere so the maintaining the existing data is not a problem.

Should I:

1. Start from scratch using 8.3.0 (New OS / New Hard Drives).

2. Delete the existing HDDs and swap them for the new ones - if so how do I do this?

Thanks

paleoN

Wizard

JonnyAlpha

Contributor
I am a little new to FreeNAS so bear with me.

My test NAS consists of 3 x HDDs (1 x IDE and 2 x SATA) of varying sizes (1 x 1TB and poss 2 x 250GB??). Looking at the GUI they are all members of a STRIPE so I am guessing when I formatted them in FreeNAS I opted for a ZFS Pool Stripe what RAID is this equivalent to?.
In my working setup I think I want a RAID 5 setup hence why I purcahsed 3 Disks.

I have three Volumes: Test, Test/Jail, Test/Software. The idea being Test would hold all data accessed by the PCs / Macs on the Network and Jail and Software where created fr iTunes and Transmission Plugins etc. I will probably created more volumes and restrict access because on my current setup Test/Jail and Test/Software are visible to all.

My NAS will contain all of my Films / Video / Music / Pictures and act as a Time Machine Backup for my 2 x Macs and probably be used to periodically backup my 1 x PC cbut thats not so important.

Thanks

ben

FreeNAS GUI Developer
That's a RAID 0. You'll have to make a new pool.

JonnyAlpha

Contributor
That's a RAID 0. You'll have to make a new pool.