BUILD Help and feedback on upgrading my existing freenas box

Status
Not open for further replies.

tecjam

Cadet
Hello all,

I've been using Freenas for just over 2 years now in my first build. So far so good, but I'm running out of space and now I have some important decisions to make before I upgrade my existing or build my new box.

My usage for freenas is home use to store all my media (dvd iso, avi, mkv, mp3) some program backups and a regularly synced copy of my PC Documents folder. Video files account for ~70%.

I also use a few jails for owncloud and plex and in future I want to expand this to also run a web development server (debian / amp / git / jenkins / possibly mailserver ..) for my home office work (I'm a web dev).

My current box has the following setup (it was a noob low power / little money build, so please bear with me):

I realise I have been lucky to not have lost my data so far, so it is even more important that I get my next build right. My capacity is now above the 80% limit (again my own fault for not keeping an eye on it) and I have powered my box down until I have my new build setup to avoid last minute corruption or loss of data.

All things considered my new build should have the following characteristics:

• EEC support a must so I have to replace the MoBo, there is no doubt about that.
  • I should probably get a new case for my new MoBo as well as the Lian Li only supports up to 7 HDDs. For my new build 8 x HDD 3,5" should be a starting point

1. at least 8 Sata ports to be future proof (Intel preferred)
  2. Intel LAN
  3. a minimum of 4 RAM Slots (DDR3 EEC)
  4. anything else is nice, but not essential
In the search for the cheapest way of doing this:

1. Get a Server Case prewired

I have looked and found what seems to be a great deal on the following system for 300 Euro (new):
    http://www.supermicro.com/products/system/4u/7046/sys-7046a-t.cfm

It includes the following MoBo: