Help a noob. UPS - which to get for auto shutdown config

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmacman

Dabbler
Major Disclaimer: I'm a complete NAS noob. But so grateful to the folks here who put up with people like me (including basically all my posts). So as the quote goes..."Now, explain it to me like I'm a four-year-old" because when it comes to stuff like this, I am.

I have, however, searched here about UPS and auto shutdown and have a minimal grasp of the subject. I found a few threads so I sort of understand what I need to do. I believe that any UPS listed on the NUT site will allow for integration within FreeNAS, is that correct?

Ultimately I just want a lower end solution merely to enable the freeNAS to auto shutdown. I'm on 9.3 and have read thru the manual about the UPS configuration, and again, I "think" I understand.

I have a UPS but that one is not listed on the NUT reference page. Which is fine, I'd rather use it for my cable modem, router, etc for some simple and short term activities. My goal is not to run TVs, computers, etc for long periods on that UPS anyway.

But back to the FreeNAS. If all I want is a low cost way to enable the auto shutdown, is the correct approach to merely look thru the NUT page for low end models that are listed there? And to just help me "connect the dots" what I am looking for is a UPS with USB because I need to have it connected to a USB port on the FreeNAS box, is that correct? Or are there ways to do it without a USB port on the UPS. But is the USB the way to go (i.e., simplicity).

danb35

Hall of Famer
And to just help me "connect the dots" what I am looking for is a UPS with USB because I need to have it connected to a USB port on the FreeNAS box, is that correct?
That's the simplest way to go.
Or are there ways to do it without a USB port on the UPS.