SOLVED Have to use Unix storage, would like to share over SMB

bozho

Dabbler
Hi all,

I'm quite new to FreeNAS and I'm trying out a few things before I start migrating away from "two big disks stuffed in my desktop".

I've been trying out the Syncthing plugin and had some problems with permissions/ACLs (see here) Long story short, Syncthing needs to be able to chmod files, which means my sync dataset has to be of Unix variety. I've actually created a small hierarchy of "backup" datasets here:
Code:
/mnt/master
    /backup
      /sync
         /bozho

The idea is that there will be other types of backups in the future, and that Syncthing will have its own dataset with child datasets for each user (please let me know if this is exceedingly dumb idea :)

All three datasets (backup, sync and bozho) have Unix permissions and group ownership set to the backup group:
Code:
[bozho@freenas /]$ ls -al /mnt/master/backup/
total 10
drwxrwxr-x  3 root  backup  3 Jan  3 18:04 .
drwxr-xr-x  7 root  wheel   7 Jan  3 18:03 ..
drwxrwxr-x  3 root  backup  3 Jan  3 18:04 sync

[bozho@freenas /]$ ls -al /mnt/master/backup/sync/
total 2
drwxrwxr-x  3 root   backup  3 Jan  3 18:04 .
drwxrwxr-x  3 root   backup  3 Jan  3 18:04 ..
drwxrwxr-x  4 bozho  backup  4 Jan  3 18:07 bozho

[bozho@freenas /]$ ls -al /mnt/master/backup/sync/bozho/
total 42
drwxrwxr-x   4 bozho  backup    4 Jan  3 18:07 .
drwxrwxr-x   3 root   backup    3 Jan  3 18:04 ..
drwxr-xr-x  55 983    backup  116 Jan  3 18:13 documents
drwxr-xr-x   7 983    backup   14 Jan  3 18:15 phone_photos

All of this works fine. I've created a backup group inside the Syncthing jail with the same GID and added the syncthing user to it and Syncthing happily syncs with my Win10 laptop.