Hard Drive recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Wie bitte?
Solche Missverständnisse haben schon Kriege verursacht. ;)

Apparemment nous ne devons rester sur le sujet dans ce discussion
c'est sufficiant de divaguer un peut en français :p
+1 à cause da la cédille. Comme est-ce que on fait le c cédille sans un clavier français/portugais(/turc)? En Windows, avec la séquence Alt+0231, en OS X avec Opt+C. Dans autres environments, cherchez "cedilha" - après, c'est seulement copier et coller. :D
C'est un peu de travail, mais je fais le même avec le ß (Alt+0223).

I'll take a stab at getting back to topic.
Fine...

So here's my opinion on hard drive brands:
Seagate clearly has some problems at the moment, so I would avoid them. That doesn't mean "avoid them forever", which would be irrational. Some models are just bad (and some Seagate 3TB models are atrocious), but those are bound to happen to any brand.
I've been using mostly WD for a few years now, but I don't have a good reason for that. It just happened and inertia did the rest.
Of course, if we start to see indications of systemic crappiness from Seagate in general, across model lines, that would be a good reason to avoid them outright for quite some time. Unfortunately, I don't have faith that the other manufacturers (I don't even know if Toshiba has a 2.5" HDD unit anymore - if not, I guess that leaves WD and WD and WD) won't end up in similar situations.