gpart: geom 'da0' Operation not permitted

Status
Not open for further replies.

TerranPhil

Dabbler
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNAS.

During installation of version 9.3 I make it as far as attempting to install FreeNAS to my USB device. I get the following error:

gpart: geom 'da0'
operation not permitted
dd:/dev/da0: operation not permitted

I've searched for similar errors and have not found a conclusive solution. I'm following the installation instructions at http://doc.freenas.org/9.3/freenas_install.html. I've verified the downloaded ISO is correct using hashcalc.

Any suggestions?

Hardware:
1 x Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX
4x 3TB WD Reds
1x SanDisk 32GB Extreme Cruzer
1x Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3L 1600MT/s (PC3-12800) DR x8 ECC UDIMM 240-Pin Server Memory CT2KIT102472BD160B

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Are you trying to install FreeNAS to the same drive you're installing it from?
That won't work.

D'oh, ninja'd

TerranPhil

Dabbler
That sounds like you are attempting to install onto the same device you're booted from.

This is precisely the cause and makes way too much sense, thank you. Installed the ISO to CD, then booted from the disc and successfully proceeded to install FreeNAS to the USB device.

Thanks!

Supa

Patron
Don't worry. I did the same thing:

F6ITexD.png

Where do people usually install free nas too? I don't have access to a cd drive.

S

sef

First, we do recommend installing to a SATA-DOM; failing that, use a second thumb drive.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Does this work? just mount the .iso as a virtual device to enter the setup.. then install FreeNAS onto the USB Stick?

It does. That's how I installed FreeNAS on a machine yesterday. :)

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Don't worry. I did the same thing:

F6ITexD.png

Where do people usually install free nas too? I don't have access to a cd drive.

Well, you're clearly using IPMI, so the answer should be obvious.

cyberjock