FreeNAS system

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikeusdev

Dabbler
Hi,

I would like to have an advice on the following hardware that I would like to buy to build a FreeNAS system. I need the system as a backup unit and for running from time to time one or two virtual machines. I already have 2 hard disks and that's why they are not in the list.
Also, since I only have a router in my network, I thought about buying a switch as well. I will have 2 client machines and the backup system running simultaneously.

Kingston 4GB DDR3-1066 CL7
Cisco SG300-10 - 8+2-Port 10/100/1000
Fractal Design Array R2 Mini ITX NAS - 300W
Asus E45M1-I DELUXE

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards.
Michael

bfishernc

Dabbler
What type of VMs? Served by NFS? On ZFS? From experience, this takes some disk IOPs capability. Also, will probably need more RAM memory.

(I'm still a newbie... Take my notes with a grain of salt)

mikeusdev

Dabbler
VMs can be an email server and/or another server (SQL and/or Web). I have no idea about NFS or ZFS. I thought that setting up a FreeNAS box would "solve" the NFS/ZFS issues. But I am really new to NAS and FreeNAS.

bfishernc

Dabbler
ZFS is how the drives work together (basically software RAID), and NFS is the sharing protocol your VMs likely need (and CIFS for windows, etc). FreeNAS itself needs to be configured to know how you want it to work.

Like you, I didn't understand all of this until I got started. It's not too hard if you can follow the GUI documentation. I still don't know all the console commands, etc. Check out the documentation on the main website - it helps a lot.

mikeusdev

Dabbler
OK. I will use software RAID 1 with two disks and for the VM I simply access them through the GUI to work directly on them or use the networking (TCP/IP) capabilities of the operating systems (client and server).

Does anyone have comments on the hardware's choice?

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer