Freenas - Power Saving Advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rion

Cadet
I am new to FreeBSD/FreeNAS or Unix, So my simple question is since I have modern Intel i7 CPU which supports Speedstep EIST and C-States functions for power saving then how can I use them to drop Idle power consumption of my freenas box.

Before Installing Freenas I was using windows on my System, I was getting Idle 40-45 Watts of power consumption on it. but in Freenas My Idle power consumption is 80Watts, which is almost double.

I have searched in google and I did find some realted posts but I didn't understand them much, and fear if I can edit the loader.conf wrongly I may put my freenas box at risk.

So I would like to catch experinced Freenas users and hope to get detailed step by step about how to enable all those power saving steps in FreeNAS.

Thanks

enemy85

Guru
What hardware to get 80w in idle?

Rion

Cadet
Freenas 9.2.1.7 64 bit
CPU - i7 870 Quad Core with HT
Mobo - Asus P7P55D ELX
RAM - 16GB - Corsair Non ECC
PSU - Cooler Master Silent Pro 600M
Case - CM Elite 430
HDD - Seagate 1TB x 2 (Mirroring)
USB - Sandisk 4 GB usb2

enemy85

Guru
For what i know Freenas doesn't support c states functions because it's intended to be a server OS and be uptime 24h a day 7days a week...
If for u power saving is a concern, i'll suggest you to find a more efficient and SUITABLE hardware for freenas...
My box with an i3 4130, 8gb ECC ram, 5hd and a 360w gold PSU idle at 45-50w

Rion

Cadet
But there must be the way to atleast get the Speedstep (EIST) fuction to work. I have seen threads explaining how to get it work but its too technical for me to understand and is not for Newbie like me.

If my CPU is 3.0 Ghz and is going to serve as a storage server and nothing else then I dont think it needs more than 1.0Ghz of power to do it and without those Four cores with HT, its very simple task isnt it?