Freenas 9.10 config issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

gary201

Cadet
First off, I'm new to freenas. I have two qnap devices that I've used for years, and they work well, but I'm interested in switching to freenas for the zfs benefits. However, in my prototype testing I'm doing on an installation running on ESXi, I've found a couple things I just can't get past. Surly these things can't be that difficult.

The first is dealing with home directories. On my qnap, I just create a share, flag it for use as home directories and since the qnap device is a member of AD, there's nothing else to configure. Any AD user with the profile set to "\\qnapdevice\home" will end up with a directory "home/DOMAIN=<DOMAIN>/<domainuser>. It just works. If the user logging in is using a local qnap account, then its just the same path minus the "DOMAIN=<DOMAIN>" part.

I've spent two days on this and just can't get it to work. the freenas is a member of the domain, I know that's working right. I can create a share and map to it correctly if i manually set the permissions from an ssh session. I've got the share created for "home" that points to /mnt/zpool/homes, so it "should" be automatically creating the directory /mnt/zpool/homes/<domain>/<user>". This is the entry in smb4.conf that I'm referencing: path = /mnt/zpool/homes/%D/%U

I've tried to pre-create the directories and even setting the permissions explicitly and still can't get past "system error 53...the network path was not found". It should just be as simple as "net use <drive> \\<nas-device>\home" for a user logged into a windows system with an AD account.