First time user, Budget Build. Will this work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dantonic

Cadet
Hi,
I've never built or owned a NAS before.
I've read some of the help stickies about hardware. (hope I didn't miss any crucial information) I'm looking for advice on these or better parts I should consider.

Use case:
I'm looking to increase my storage capacity which is currently maxed out at 1 whole TB (backed up to cloud and another 1TB external.)
For now this NAS will mostly be used for storing photos as well as 4k video (home videos) as well as my edited videos etc. I would like to be able to share these over my networked devices, and I understand FreeNas should let me do just that. I would also like to automatically sync to Amazon cloud drive, but from what I've read it sounds like this feature is not yet available on FreeNAS.
The main reason I am going with FreeNAS instead of a similarly priced synology or drobo or such is because the main feature I am interested in is data integrity, and avoiding bitrot. I think this is probably overkill, but the project has piqued my interest.

Build:
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600
$144.99

SeaSonic S12II 430B 430W ATX12V V2.3/EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
$59.99
Intel Pentium G3460 Haswell Dual-Core 3.5 GHz LGA 1150 53W BX80646G3460 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics
$69.99
Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Server Memory Model CT2KIT102472BD160B
$89.99
APC BE650G1 Back-UPS 650VA 8-outlet Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)

$68.31
Note1: I have plenty of cases and fans that I'm planning to use from my previous builds over the years, looks are not important.
Note2: I'm hoping the dual 1 gigabit LANs on this mobo will suffice unless you think I should buy a separate card.
Subtotal: $433.27

Plus 6 Hitachi Ultrastar 7K3000 HUA723020ALA641 2TB 64MB cache Internal Hard Drive (just bought them today dirt cheap $30 each)