Easy sharing setup, home directory

Status
Not open for further replies.

NAStard

Dabbler
Hello,

I am a newbie when it comes to both FreeNAS and ZFS. During the last few weeks I read hundreds of threads and thousands of individual posts. I've also looked at a large number of third-party pages with information that is frequently out of date or incomplete. I believe that I could have saved a lot of time had there been a User Guide reflective of the snippet of info I will post below.

Obviously, there are a many sharper knives in the drawer (community) compared to me; and that may include those few members with the highest post counts who successfully shutdown an otherwise potentially productive thread with a specious or otherwise vacuous reply within the first hour of the original post. Those good people should show more restraint and not do that. :)

Aside from the rock star personalities, one issue I see in the FreeNAS community is the notion of what is a Reference document compared to a User Guide document. There was a period in modern computer history when documentation existed in two general formats: a Reference and a User Guide. Today, with the exception of examples such as man pages, which is reference material, a lot of documentation is a combination of the two styles, unfortunately.

One clear indicator that the document you may be reading is a reference document is when it is organized according to features. The TOC reveals this. The FreeNAS doc at doc.freenas.org is reference material and apparently, based on the content of this help forum, not an effective User Guide. The experts point to this document as everything you would ever need to know to accomplish your FreeNAS goals. That doc did not work for me as a User Guide as much as it helped me as Product Reference.