Disk Performance Path

TravisT

Patron
I'm trying to remove bottlenecks on my FreeNAS server, and I know that one of them is my physical disk performance. I originally setup my FreeNAS box with a 4-disk RaidZ1 pool. I've increased the capacity of the disks from what they were originally to 4TB WD Red disks over the years.

I am no storage expert, but I believe I need to increase the number of disks in the system to improve performance. I'm trying to build a roadmap of a systematic upgrade of the system over time that I can work toward.

One of the biggest performance problems I'm trying to solve is working with ~100K RAW images stored on this pool via SMB over 1GB Ethernet.

I think:
- I should use 5-disk RaidZ2 vDevs
- to increase space, I should add additional 5-disk RaidZ2 vDevs to my pool

If those assumptions are correct, I think my next steps are:
- Build 5-disk RaidZ2 vDev
- Migrate existing data to new pool
- Destroy current 4-disk vDev
- Add another 4TB drive
- Create second 5-disk RaidZ2 vDev
- Add second vDev to pool

I'd love some feedback on this strategy, or recommendations on a better path to increased performance.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
If you want to increase your IOPS, you need those VDEVs to be evenly populated, or ZFS will write more often to the more empty one until they are both equal.

This would mean your migration plan isn't going to get you to more IOPS (at least not right away).

You might find that 10G ethernet will be the best path to faster performance.

Certainly do RAIDZ2 with those larger drives and watch out for SMR when adding new ones. (see the resource from @Yorick)

TravisT

Patron
While that makes perfect sense, I hadn't thought about that. Is there a way to force the balancing of data on already populated disks (i.e. moving files causing a rewrite)?