Disk migration and mirroring

dibun

Cadet
I am new to Truenas and I have finalized my setup with few apps, Timemachine share and a VM. My disk setup is as follows. There is no redundancy as of today.

- Boot-Pool (512GB mSATA)
- Data pool (2TB SSD)

I want to have redundancy (Mirroring) so I would like to move both Boot-pool and data pool to 2 x 2TB SSD. I have done config backup and heavy_script backup.
I can edit the truenas-install script during install so Boot-pool doesnt take up the entire disk during install.

The HW is mini-pc so I only have 1 mSATA and 1 SATA port.

Can it be done this way?

1. mSATA disk is blank and SATA disk contains Data pool
2. Connect mSATA disk, edit truenas-install script and install the Boot-Pool (64GB)
3. Connect SATA disk with Data pool. Restore backup config and then move the Data pool to 1st disk (mSATA). Once Data Pool is migrated delete all partitions from the SSD disk.
4. Setup mirroring between mSATA and SSD disk.

Is this the best strategy or should I do it in a different way?

Thanks in advance.

Arwen

MVP
Sharing the boot drive is not supported, and may lead to problems;

However, it is possible;
Note that this complicates disk replacement and can lead to data loss. The usual caveats prevail:
  • Buyer beware
  • Here be dragons
  • YALZP, (Yet Another Lost ZFS Pool)

dibun

Cadet
Sharing the boot drive is not supported, and may lead to problems;

However, it is possible;
Note that this complicates disk replacement and can lead to data loss. The usual caveats prevail:
  • Buyer beware
  • Here be dragons
  • YALZP, (Yet Another Lost ZFS Pool)
Lack of disk ports is the issue here for me. I do have mPCI-E port for WLAN cards. Can I use that for M2 drive?

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer

chuck32

Guru
Honestly I'd rather use an USB drive as the boot pool than sharing the boot drive.
From what I read this should cause less headache if you have regular backups of your config.