Disk Checksum Errors - Is this normal?

UDSGuy

Cadet
Howdy folks -

I'm relatively new to the TrueNAS world, although I've worked in the NAS industry for 10+ years. A few months ago I built a TrueNAS Scale machine to replace my now unsupported Western Digital EX2 device I've had here home for the past 7 years. I enjoyed setting it up and love the ability to use it to host VMs that I spin up and down for various testing projects for my work.

A week or so ago I started getting notifications of "Critical Alerts" which came as a surprise as the TrueNAS build has been flawless up until now. I haven't had to do anything to the build since I set it up so I searched the forum here and found a few threads, one which was great and demonstrated how to scrub the pool and clear the errors. I also reseated the cables as recommended. That initially instilled some confidence, however the errors returned. At this point I decided to replace the SATA cables, while the number of errors seemed to diminish a little down to 1-2 per drive they didn't go away. At this point I decided to install a SATA adapter card I had purchased, because my original intent was to use 5 SSDs, this resulted in no change. The errors go away after I scrub and clear, however 1 or 2 sporadically reappear on 1-3 of the drives. The PNY drives don't support S.M.A.R.T. so I haven't been able to run the diagnostics.

So my question is - Is this normal? Should I be concerned or just be happy that ZFS is doing its thing and protecting the data?

Below is my build followed by a few glamour shots of the system. The red cables have been swapped out and a 6 port SATA adapter installed.

thanks!

TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.3.3
Gigabyte A520i AC
AMD Ryzen 7 5700G
64GB RAM
(4) 2TB PNY CS900 - RAID Z2
(1) 2TB Crucial P3 NVMe (OS)
BEYIMEI PCIe 4X SATA 6 Port ASM1166/SATA 3.0

image0 (1).jpeg
image1 (1).jpeg
image2.jpeg

image3.jpeg

UDSGuy

Cadet
Update: