CPU to use

Status
Not open for further replies.

bsalinux

Dabbler
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNAS (only built as a VM so far). I would like to build a enterprise class NAS with 12x 2TB HDD with RAIDZ2 (ZFS). I plan to use dedupe (with FreeBSD current or future FreeNAS 9x).

Would following be suffcient for my task?:
Dual Irwindale Xeon ~3.0GHz x64
16GB DDR-333 ECC REG

I understand that dedupe uses more memory (or SSD) for large tables.

Thanks

survive

Behold the Wumpus
Hi bsalinux,

That system should be ok, but I would really consider buying something newer. The Irwindale procs are pre-core\core2 chips and really aren't all that efficient. For about $600 you could get a nice little Supermicro board with an i3 Xeon and 16GB of DDR3 memory that should run circles around a dual Irwindale system. Ther's certainly no reason not to try with your existing gear, assuming you will be using a decent case swapping out the board should be an easy process if your existing setup isn't performing.

I don't really know exactly how demanding de-dupe is on a CPU, but I know it will suck up every bit of RAM you can give it so the ability to add more without breaking the bank would be key here!

How do you plan on connecting the drives? What hardware do you currently have that you want to include? How important is "enterprise class"?

If I were you I would contact our good friends at iX Systems and see what they would suggest.....if you buy the system from them you can get their industrial-grade TrueNAS software that has some extra features (like de-dupe & zfsv28) that FreeNAS doesn't and get started with the good stuff right away.

-Will

bsalinux

Dabbler
Hi Will,

Thanks for the comforting answer. You are correct, I want to start this project up using what I have and then later if I feel performance degradation, I can swap the board.

As far as I can tell one needs 1GB of memory for every TB of storage but this could be alleviated by adding a SSD for large tables that de-dupe uses.