Couple of questions if you don't mind

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokie

Explorer
Hi everyone

Before I ask the couple of questions let me just explain my setup. I'm new to Freenas and so far I am enjoying the experience of building something myself. I currently have Freenas 9.2 running on a dell poweredge 1950 server, 16G ECC memor installed and I only have two 2TB drives. I had set it all up before putting it away safe in my attic, to avoid the buzzing fans..

My first dilema is that I didnt set my machine to a static IP, Can I set a static one from the GUI or is my only option to get back up to the attic with a monitor? Also can I set my jails to a static IP aswell?

My second one is that the server has two gigabit cards, However according to my router it is only connecting at 10\100 and not gigabit. Is this a problem with freenas or would it be my fault? Maybe there is something I am missing.

Thanks in advance

Smokie

Explorer
I also have question regarding DLNA, How are people viewing videos ect that they have on there machine? I have a Samsung smart tv that picks up my iomega ix200 drive, It can see all the media.
What options do I have with Freenas?

sremick

Patron
1) Try browsing/pinging freenas.local which is the default initial hostname. Setting a static IP is still a good idea though as a backup.

2) If your router is only 10/100 then your server isn't going to connect any faster than that. Bad/cheap cables can also reduce your link speeds.