Connect Using Different Credentials to SMB's Doesn't Work

Wozza J

Dabbler
Hi.

This is driving me crazy!

I've set up a NAS for a family using an old tower PC with some drives and using 11.3. I've been using FreeNAS for a few years, but I feel I should have seen this problem before and I haven't.

Four family members each have a dataset (using their names). I've then created the SMB shares as their names too to match the Shared folder names and for the ACL's I've done as per the attached so you'll see their are explicit permissions with the users and groups with the parents being in the same groups as the children.

The problem occurs when trying to map to each drive as using the 'Connect using different credentials keeps remembering the first login, even when I choose the correct username and using the format \\xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx\username and then the password. a couple of seconds after entering the password, the login box just reappears.

I have had a browse through the threads here and have seen similarities, but is there something solid I can do to resolve this? The main issue is one parent has access to all folders, the other parent has access to hers and the children and the children only have access to their own.

Thanks.

Attachments

• Capture1.JPG
    Capture1.JPG
    58 KB · Views: 603
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but what you described is an inherent and long-standing known issue with Windows. There have been complaints on Reddit and Microsoft forums, with the only official explanation that this is (somehow) a "security" feature.

It's nonsense, and other users correctly called this out: It's not a security feature, it's just laziness on Microsoft's side.

The real irony is that SMB is a Microsoft technology, yet I have the best experience using it with a FreeBSD server (TrueNAS) and Linux clients (Linux Mint and Manjaro KDE, using Smb4K to manage all my network shares / credentials.)