CIFS Windows permission error on only one file

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnfv

Cadet
Hello, my first post here. I'm a long time IT professional and have a working knowledge of shares/permissions but I’m a noob with freenas. I’m trying freenas (FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201509022158) on a desktop system while planning a proper Supermicro based build. My current machine: Asus MB, i5-750 CPU, 16 GB RAM (non ECC), 7 x 2TB raidz volume. My volume is owned by my user/group (same password as Windows) and configured for windows permissions with default mode settings. I do not have a dataset. My CIFS share is setup with default windows permissions (no guest access). I successfully copied thousands of files (mostly audio and video) to the share from Windows 7 clients. However, I have one file (one of several large .avi files) that fails. I can’t see any significant difference in this file (ownership, permissions, size, etc.) and the many others that did copy successfully.
The symptoms are: Windows attempts to copy (it is rougly 25GB so takes a few minutes). From the freenas server I can see the file listed in the directory while it is copying and owned by correct user/group. When Windows finishes copying I get a dialog saying “you require permission from <netbios name>\<my user> to make changes to this folder” and the options are try again or cancel. I can't get past the dialog. The netbios name and user name shown are correct, it is the same user that owns the many files and folders that have copied successfully. I can copy the problem file to other Windows locations, I’ve tried renaming it, copying to different folders in the share, I even deleted and rebuilt my raidz volume from scratch. No matter what I try this one file has the problem yet 66000+ others copied fine.

Any ideas on what the issue might be or how to better diagnose? Thanks!

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems