Checksum errors returning after scrubs

Status
Not open for further replies.

guldan

Dabbler
Hey Guys,

I made a post the other day regarding this but it's a different question. Essentially i've had this 4 disk raidz1 running for 1.5 yrs no issues, I then upgraded Freenas to 8.3 and my zpool to 28. Within the week all my disks were showing checksum errors, after a full scrub the results were 2/7/1/2.

Here is my logic.. It can't be the disks/cables because previously there was 0 in all of them, they can't all be damaged at once.. In fact I doubt it's hardware at all because of that fact although if it is then it's probably the RAM or Controller. That week I had Freenas randomly reboot, perhaps crashed.. So I am thinking that crash created some file corruption unrelated to the hardware.

I ran a full scrub, said it fixed 440k in errors. They came back, running another full scrub and they are still there. Can anyone shed light on this?

Thx

pete_c20

Dabbler
I'm new to FreeNAS (still reading!) but not new to computers.
My first thought is 'what changed' between working and non working? That spawns these further thoughts.....1)That the upgrade noticed something that was always there but had gone undetected. 2)That the upgrade has messed something up. 3) The random reboot was actually the hallmark of a hardware problem.

1 & 2 I can't help you with...but 3....

How about running memtest86 (runs nicely off a bootable USB stick) to see if that shows any errors? Maybe a simple way of doing a basic system hardware integrity check. Errors there may point to RAM, power supply (sometimes a menace to diagnose). Leave it to bake overnight. It's an easy one to do and shouldn't disturb anything.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
That's a great starting point. Want to expand upon it: