Cannot import a NTFS disk

ScaleyNas

Dabbler
Hello all,
TrueNAS SCALE noob here. I'm having a problem with importing a disk to copy the data from it. When I go to the import dialog, there is no drive to select from the DISK* drop drown menu. The HD (4TB WD RED NTFS with 1TB of data) does appear under DISKS.

What I've tried - (device details in my signature)
I'm following the instructions from documentation exactly and I've tried several different installs and tried using a few different SSD boot drives too. This happened under RC2. I tried via upgrade to official release. I tried fresh install of official release on different SSD boot disk. Right now I have a fresh install of official release, no odd configurations. One encrypted pool, 5 datasets, RaidZ1. I have 5TBs of backed up data to transfer so I'd really like to get this working. I have even tried different hard drives, several Seagates, WDs, wiped, freshly formatted and dumped 100MB of test data. Same as above. The disks are there, I can create a POOL if I want but cannot import the data. Grrr! lol

I've read through the entire documentation several times in preparation for SCALE's release. Am I missing something or is this a bug that I should report?

Other issues in case this info is relevant
#1 No Console Screen on NAS monitor. WebUI access and things seem to work fine. Multiple installation attempts with boot disk created under Rufus DD mode.
#2 OpenVPN server service fails. Multiple attempts at setting this up, without any luck. Also, cannot delete server certificate, says it's in use.

Last edited:

njkjta

Cadet
Hi all,
same problem here with my installation of TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02.0.
I followed the documentation available also for TrueNAS CORE systems, but I can't see my NTFS USB disk in the drop down menu.

The same disk (Samsung D3 Station) is however listed in the shell:

Code:
root@truenas[~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sdd: 2.73 TiB, 3000592977920 bytes, 732566645 sectors
Disk model: D3 Station