SOLVED Cannot change permissions on SMB share linux client

stevecyb

Dabbler
I tried reading Methods for Fine Tuning Samba Permissions...but quite frankly, I don't understand any of it and certainly can't figure out whether/how any of it pertains to my situation. It seems to assume way too much prior knowledge.

I have a samba share, it works beautifully on windows, but when I try to access it on linux, it shows all files as 700 (rwx------) permission, owned by me, and my group.

That's great for many operations but I have an app that fails unless the permission is 766. Unfortunately, even though I am supposedly the owner of the file, I get a permission denied when I try to change the permission. Sudo also fails.

I was able to get an NFS share to work, beautifully (and the file on there needs those same permissions but at least I can make the change)!

Unfortunately one of my other clients is a windows box, and it flatly does not support NFS shares (not avaiable with that version of windows, and an upgrade is out of the question). So I really would like to get the Samba share to work properly on the Linux box! Otherwise I will be moving files back and forth between datasets.

OK the gory details: Client is Ubuntu 18.04. Freenas Server is a Mini XL running 11.2-U6.

KrisBee

Wizard
How have you configured the perms and SMB share for your dataset in FreeNAS? If you have used the defaults of a "Windows share type" on the dataset with perms for a specific owner and group combined with a share definition that has "default permissions" checked, then I would not have expectd to see 700 as the perms when accessed in Linux? So, perhaps you have made changes to the ACLs via a Windows client and made them too restrictive. With the default SMB share settings in FreeNAS, I would have expected to see 0755 for both directory and file mode when the share is mounted in linux.