SOLVED Bridging between NICs

dewhite04

Cadet
Hello All,

I'm still relatively new to TrueNAS and would like to ask for help with a networking configuration task that's probably pretty simple. I built my TrueNAS server on top of a Supermicro X10 board that includes i210 and i219 1GbE NICs. I also added a Broadcom 10G NIC with 2 SFP+ cages.

Presently, the only connection from the server to my network is via one of the 10G SFP+ modules, which is working great. The server is located in a part of our building where there was no connectivity to begin with, so I ran a dedicated fiber line to that location. Now, I want to connect an SNMP management card (RMCARD202) from the attached Cyberpower UPS. Since there is no copper to this location, I thought to bridge the i210 NIC to the Broadcom fiber to allow the management card to pull an IP of its own. I may also want to add an unmanaged switch and connect an IP phone or some other devices in the future.

I've looked at some posts and read some guides online, and fiddled a bit myself, but I haven't been successful yet. It looks to me like all the topics I've been able to find have been specific to bridging between VMs to the physical network, or intended to allow multiple hosts to share a single static IP, or depend on specifying IP addresses, instead of allowing each connected device to obtain an IP from the DHCP server upstream.

My desire is to allow the TrueNAS to continue to hold its current IP: 192.168.42.5, which it acquires via DHCP from a static map on the DHCP server that lives at 192.168.42.1. Any other devices which are connected through enp9s0 (the i210 NIC) would pull their own IPs, either dynamically, or from another static-map entry on the router (an OPNsense installation running on separate hardware). I think this should be easily configured in the GUI, but I just haven't quite figured it out yet. Can anybody point me to a definitive resource, or suggest the steps to take?

Any thoughts are appreciated!