Booting problems Freenas, access data: how?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zeppo

Cadet
Dear all,

I hope someone can help me out on this.

I have been running FN for a little over two months on my newly purchased Dell PowerEdge T20.
Despite being new to x-os systems, i managed to get it up and running, creating volumes, datasets, shares etc.
So that's a compliment for FN.

However, i do have a big problem now!
I wanted to make some changes to the system, but found the webgui was not responding. At that time data was still accessible through the shares i made.

Then i decided to reboot the system, but how many times i tried: FN failed to start succesfully, i have been running FN from a USB drive btw.

After several fruitless efforts i decided to download the most recent version and try again. This didn't help.

So now the question is: how do i get access to the data again?

Setup:

Dell PowerEdge T20 (4 Gb, 500 Gb Seagate)
2 x 3 Tb WD Red (mirrored setup)
1 x 3 Tb WD Red (single)

Appreciate all the help i can get!

D

dlavigne

Paste the error you get when the system boots. Also, have you tried burning to a different USB stick?

Zeppo

Cadet
Haven't tried another USB stick, will do so tonight.
Here are pics of the errors:
2014-09-13%2021.23.15.jpg

and
2014-09-13%2021.31.44.jpg

I have to confirm the last one is from the most recent version

D

dlavigne

Your images aren't displaying. But a previously booting system that no longer boots is usually due to a bad stick.

Zeppo

Cadet
Sorry about the images, linking from my dropbox seems not possible. Any recommendations for USB sticks, brands?

Error codes look like:
initiate_write_filepage: already started
(da0:umass-sim0:0:0:0): READ(10). CDB: 28 00 00 02 8e bf 00 00 08 00
(da0:umass-sim0:0:0:0): CAM status: CBB request completed with an error
(da0:umass-sim0:0:0:0): Retrying command

D

dlavigne