SOLVED BitTorrent Sync File Permissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephen thomas

Dabbler
Hi.

I'm quite new to FreeBSD, so if this is an obvious/easy answer, apologies in advance (I've searched these forums without finding an answer).

We have the latest stable build of FreeNAS 9.10 running. The setup is as follows:
  • Several users, each set up with their primary group being the same as their name
  • Several datasets on our volume, with each dataset having:
    • Owner (user): root
    • Owner (group): same name as dataset name (i.e. projects dataset will be assigned to the projects group).
  • Apple AFP shares for each dataset
  • Each user is assigned auxiliary groups for each share that they require access to (e.g. stephen has primary group: stephen. auxiliary groups: projects, finances, assets, btsync. john has primary group: john. auxiliary groups: projects, assets, btsync)
This works perfectly well on our local network. The problem comes with BitTorrent Sync. I followed this guide for setting it up:

http://blog.bittorrent.com/2014/02/...-freenas-with-bittorrent-sync-using-a-plugin/

As this guide asks you to set the permissions on the datasets as btsync (something we really don't want to do), I followed this guide to create the required groups inside the btsync jail:

http://whopoopedmypants.com/installing-and-configuring-btsync-on-freenas/

This works great, btsync now has read/write access (I've created storage inside the btsync jail for each dataset), with a small problem... The files synced to the NAS are written by user: btsync, group: (name of dataset) with the permissions: -rw-r--r--. It looks like I need to change the default write permission that btsync uses to be writable by both user and group, but I have no idea how to do this.

Any ideas on how to do this would be very gratefully received.

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
I read your post, and poked around their knowledgebase a bit, and came up empty.
:(