Advise on Tehuti TN4010 10G NICs? Or alternate for use with iSCSI

ee21

Dabbler
Let me preface this by saying I am literally brand new to FreeNAS and just installed in on my first box a few days ago. I have some minimal experience with Linux before hand however which has helped.

I built my box on a budget to begin with, and figured I'd put in some upgrades as I go. I picked a motherboard that has a 2.5Gbase-T integrated NIC using the RTL8125B chip, which I managed to get to work on FreeBSD.. Performance which has been less than desirable, only about 1.5X that of any old 1G card. I'm not sure it's to blame, but I think it's causing my Hyper-V VMs installed on the iSCSI disks to hang/crash too..

I'm looking at biting the bullet and upgrading to a 10G card, and want to some advise from the community. While doing research, I found a number of newer cards built on the TN4010 chip, which not only is less expensive than (new) Intel cards it seems, but I read use a LOT less power, to the tune of 1-2W vs 10-11W, which is a substantial amount of heat in a 2U chassis without much cooling.

Has anyone else looked at these cards, and do they look like good hardware? I am concerned about reliability obviously, as well as heat. Here is one such card, which the band name right off the bat causes some concern: https://www.newegg.com/rosewill-rc-nic412v2/p/N82E16833166130

It seems there may be a working driver now for FreeNAS, but I haven't done as much research yet into what it would take to install, my Linux experience in that field is limited to none: http://www.tehutinetworks.net/?t=drivers&L1=8&L2=12&L3=61