Add ramdisk as disk option

AlanOne

Dabbler
Hello everyone,

Plain and simple, I tried this:

and this:

but still I cannot see the ramdisk in the storage -> disk section.

Can someone provide a detailed guide (I have zero experience/knowledge on unix/linux) on how to add a ramdisk and see it as a "disk"?

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
A few points about this...

What are you hoping to do which requires you to see it in "disks"?

RAM disks won't be ZFS, so they won't show up as a location in any of the GUI/middleware for any of the standard services like SMB shares, etc.

Since you gave no context other than you want a RAM disk, and I assume you now have (or had) one... what's actually the issue?

danb35

Hall of Famer
RAM disks won't be ZFS,
Well, I guess they could be.
flat,750x,075,f-pad,750x1000,f8f8f8.u1.jpg

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Well, I guess they could be.
All that checksumming (in ECC RAM, which does that also if you're running on proper hardware) just to kill it all at reboot? I guess some people like to do things for fun.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality

AlanOne

Dabbler
Hello again! I just want to test the actuall speed with iSCSI on 10gbe. I don't mind if the filesystem it uses is zfs or ext. This is pure test. Even in a SAN config it's practically waste touse ramdisks or ram caching, as it all comes down to sustained reads and writes of hdds.

RAM disks won't be ZFS, so they won't show up as a location in any of the GUI/middleware for any of the standard services like SMB shares, etc.
Are u sure that there is no way to circumvent this? if nothing else we are talking about the "mighty" unix/linux and not the windoze..
(Oh by the way, trying to mount a ramdisk in freenas version, using commands from various places (I can't remember which one), it didn't made a new "disk" to select, but it increased the ZFS cache. Again, don't mind me if what I am saying is BS, but I am a total noob on unix/linux)

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality