Active Directory Services could not be started.

Status
Not open for further replies.

afishyfella

Cadet
I have installed FreeNas on a Dell Poweredge 2850 following the documentation the best I can. I am in a Server 2008 R2 domain with 4 domain controllers. It should be noted that we did upgrade from a 2003/2008 mixed domain before this attemt at installing FreeNas. I am trying to enable the Directory Services after entering the required information in the Active Directory settings (see image 1). I am encountering the error, "The service could not be started," at the top of the gui (see image 2). Further information can be seen in the attached screenshots dmesg1 through 6 and the screenshot labeled system Information. I can ping the domain and the FreeNas box can be pinged as per the documentation at http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Directory_Services.

As I am a complete NOOB in regards to FreeNas, could someone help me troubleshoot this problem? If you require more logs I will be glad to find them, however I will need help since I am a complete NOOB to finding these on this type of system. If anyone can help, they will be saving a school district (and taxpayers) around $4K.

Attachments

• image 1  active directory settings.jpg
    image 1 active directory settings.jpg
    35.2 KB · Views: 453
  • image 2 The service could not be started.jpg
    image 2 The service could not be started.jpg
    16.1 KB · Views: 461
  • dmesg 1.jpg
    dmesg 1.jpg
    184.9 KB · Views: 384
  • dmesg 2.jpg
    dmesg 2.jpg
    195.7 KB · Views: 390
  • dmesg 3.jpg
    dmesg 3.jpg
    209.3 KB · Views: 335
  • dmesg 4.jpg
    dmesg 4.jpg
    224.8 KB · Views: 325
  • dmesg 5.jpg
    dmesg 5.jpg
    189.8 KB · Views: 348
  • dmesg 6.jpg
    dmesg 6.jpg
    189 KB · Views: 324
  • system Information.jpg
    system Information.jpg
    24.6 KB · Views: 408

afishyfella

Cadet
dlavigne,