X99 recycling for FreeNas system

Morrian

Dabbler
Hello Everyone!

Im new to the NAS world and i just have some questions. I read some of the helping threads already but im still a bit unsafe of what i wanna do^^
ATm i have a "WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra NAS" with 2x4TB wd red in it. Got it "cheap". Its ok, but i wanna build something else.

I still have my old x99 System.
CPU: 5930K
Motherboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme.

My idea is following:
get a case. Build something or so.
buy 16 gigs of ram. 4*4 or so for quadchannel speed.
buy a powersupply. 400Watt or so. Must have enough sata connections.

Running wihtout a GPU, because i dont need one in the NAS(Freenas GUI) Just for installing FreeNas a spare gpu in it.
Buy 2 more of the same HDD plates for a nice Raid 10. 4 disks for the start. I dont need so much space. Upgrade it later on, in 5 years or so. Board supports 8 sata 6Gbs ports and two more. So 10 ports easy.

What do you think about the base idea? The nas is just for my and my familie for additional backups and for me its a file server for my "collection".

Any thoughts and ideas are welcome :)

Hope im not to noobish

sabi-tech

Dabbler
Sounds good to me, Possibly a little overkill if you are not running any VMs / Jails etc. but if you have the kit it's worth it :)
I do have a spare x99 system myself but didnt want to use it based on the electricity power requirements (i'm looking for minimal power use).

Morrian

Dabbler
yeah it needs a bit more power, but i "have" to life with it, because i wanna play around with my old stuff.
Maybe 100Watt of powerconsumption.

Tonight i will do a tstrun with the system. use some old hdds i have, use my ram that is in my PC right now, put the amd wrathcooler on the cpu und look what will happen

sabi-tech

Dabbler
I dont think the wraith will fit on the x99 board. it's a different fitment (although i could be wrong?)

Morrian

Dabbler