Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

VNET help

Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
69
Thanks
4
#1
Hi all, just suffered a motherboard failure but managed to source a new one and migrated all data disks and had to reload freenas onto a usb drive and used a very recent backup to restore freenas back - but I have an issue now where I'm not able to get plex plugin running either via the jail or plugin as I get a VNET error as follows. Any help greatly appreciated.

On FreeNAS-11.2-U5

I've obviously got to change something but my nextcloud plugin starts fine! I'm not sure but I wondered if the interface name changes or has a different value?

Error detail
Error: concurrent.futures.process._RemoteTraceback:
"""
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/concurrent/futures/process.py", line 175, in _process_worker
r = call_item.fn(*call_item.args, **call_item.kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 133, in main_worker
res = loop.run_until_complete(coro)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/asyncio/base_events.py", line 484, in run_until_complete
return future.result()
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 93, in _run
return await self._call(name, serviceobj, methodobj, params=args, job=job)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 85, in _call
return methodobj(*params)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 85, in _call
return methodobj(*params)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 668, in nf
return f(*args, **kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/jail.py", line 619, in start
iocage.start()
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/iocage.py", line 1653, in start
callback=self.callback
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_start.py", line 67, in __init__
self.__start_jail__()
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_start.py", line 503, in __start_jail__
_callback=self.callback)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_common.py", line 90, in logit
_callback(content, exception)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_common.py", line 64, in callback
raise callback_exception(message)
RuntimeError:
Stopped plex due to VNET failure
"""

The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 167, in call_method
result = await self.middleware.call_method(self, message)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1098, in call_method
return await self._call(message['method'], serviceobj, methodobj, params, app=app, io_thread=False)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1043, in _call
return await self._call_worker(name, *args)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1063, in _call_worker
return await self.run_in_proc(main_worker, name, args, job)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 997, in run_in_proc
return await self.run_in_executor(self.__procpool, method, *args, **kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 973, in run_in_executor
return await loop.run_in_executor(pool, functools.partial(method, *args, **kwargs))
RuntimeError:
Stopped plex due to VNET failure
 
Last edited:

dlavigne

Storage Engineering
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
11,644
Thanks
1,017
#2
Which version were you running before the reinstall?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
69
Thanks
4
#3
The Plex plugin was the latest as I had upgraded, I'm thinking it might be better to re-install the plugin now as a new instance and copy over the plex database but I have no idea which files I'd need from the old instance and I really don't want to go through all the hassle of adjusting the movie tiles, pictures back grounds etc.
 

dlavigne

Storage Engineering
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
11,644
Thanks
1,017
#4
Sorry, I meant which version of FreeNAS as there were some vnet changes in earlier 11.2 releases.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
69
Thanks
4
#5
Ah OK - FreeNAS-11.2-U5 both before and after
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
69
Thanks
4
#6
I wondered if the ethernet interface might have changed as I can't be sure but thought it was bge0 and now is em0 on the server? And whether this might have an issue with VNET or Plex instance.
Many thanks
 

svtkobra7

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
194
Thanks
60
#7
I wondered if the ethernet interface might have changed as I can't be sure but thought it was bge0 and now is em0 on the server? And whether this might have an issue with VNET or Plex instance.
Many thanks
Saw your message and figured I'd try to help ... arguably others are MUCH more qualified, but ifconfig output would be a nice starting point.
  • Personally, I run 3 interfaces from a MLNX ConnectX-3 with options "mtu 9000 lro tso4" (understood the widely held notion is that jumbo doesn't make a big enough difference to matter, but it does on my systems.
  • VNET won't work using any of those existing three interfaces as it requires a non-jumbo interface, thus vmx2 (INTL X540-AT2).
  • So when I create a new jail from CLI, I might use
    1568886170337.png
  • Which tells iocage to use that non-jumbo vmx2 interface and all works well.
Just wanted to toss this out there in case something similar on your end or if it helps to jog your memory.

Code:
root@FreeNAS-01[~]# ifconfig

vmx0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=60079b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TS                                                                                                                                                             O6,LRO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet 10.0.40.12 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.40.255
vmx1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=60079b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TS                                                                                                                                                             O6,LRO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet 10.0.0.12 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.0.255
vmx2: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=200099<RXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet 10.0.0.13 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.0.255
vmx3: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=60079b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TS                                                                                                                                                             O6,LRO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet 10.0.30.12 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.30.255
bridge1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        ether 02:39:02:9b:50:01
        nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
        groups: bridge
        id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
        maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
        root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
        member: vnet0:1 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
                ifmaxaddr 0 port 7 priority 128 path cost 2000
        member: vmx2 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
                ifmaxaddr 0 port 3 priority 128 path cost 2000
vnet0:1: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        description: associated with jail: plexmediaserver as nic: epair0b
        options=8<VLAN_MTU>
        ether 00:0c:29:3d:6b:aa
        hwaddr 02:74:d0:00:07:0a
        nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
        media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
        status: active
        groups: epair

Code:
iocage create -n "plexmediaserver" -r 11.2-RELEASE vnet="on" dhcp="on" bpf="yes" defaultrouter="10.0.0.1" boot="on" vnet_default_interface="vmx2" allow_raw_sockets="1" interfaces="vnet0:bridge1"
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
69
Thanks
4
#8
Thanks for the update I decided to blow away the old Plex Instance and create a new one as I don't have to much on there and this is now working.
 
Top