Verification that I didn't break or corrupt anything by recursively changing permissions mode

Status
Not open for further replies.

laungst

Cadet
specs: AMD A10-7860k, 16RAM, 8x8TB HDDs, FreeNAS-11.1-U2

I've been using freenas for ~3 years now with old hardware I had laying around and I've loved it so far- haven't had any issues I couldn't overcome through research on this forum and others like it until now.

I have a mostly full ~50TB freenas volume after raid-z1, and I'm about to expand with another ~50TB freenas volume in the same system. Because of this expansion, I was cleaning up a bit- re-setting up alerts, accounts, permissions, etc. in ways that make more sense and that are more secure now that I understand freenas a bit better than when I started.

As part of this, in

Code:
Storage > Volumes > [volume name] > [dataset name] > Change Permissions

I changed Permission Type from Windows to Unix so I could un-check 'other' and 'group' so that only I (the owner of the dataset) could access that dataset, and no one else in my group could (if Windows is selected instead of unix, it greys out those selection boxes and forces 'group' and 'other' read and execute to be checked). I also checked the 'Set permission recursively' box so that it would change it for the entire dataset.

Upon clicking 'Change', freenas used disks at 100% for ~10 minutes, and in the log gave:

Code:
chmod: [file path]: Operation not permitted

essentially denying the change for seemingly every single file in the dataset. I'm not sure how many lines it was, but it took quite a few minutes to scroll through them all holding the 'page down' key in putty. I'm assuming hundreds of thousands if not millions.