Ubuntu VM Size on Disk Massive

makani47

Cadet
I'm pretty new to FreeNAS, so this may be a simple matter. I created a Ubuntu Server VM in FreeNAS with a 30GB zvol. When I created it, I used all the default settings. In Ubuntu I created a Samba share and mapped it on my Windows computers. I transferred some Docker config directories to it coming in at 4.12GB. When you check the size, the size shows 4.12GB but the Size on disk shows 19.0GB. To me this is a huge difference and will fill my VM pretty quickly. I've looked online but can't seem to find a good solution. I'm not exactly sure where to go from here. I've deleted and recreated the VM 3 times now with no luck. I'm sure I am lacking some needed info to really help, just not sure what info I need to provide for this. Any help would be appreciated. Thank!

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    73.1 KB · Views: 218

makani47

Cadet
I have not. I'm wondering if its just how Windows 10 is rounding up the file sizes when viewing the Samba shares. For instance a folder that is 450MB shows as like 15GB. This folder has a ton of very small <1mb files. If I putty into Ubuntu directly and run df -h, it shows I'm at about 62% of my 30GB virtual disk. If I check the Size on Disk for my entire Samaba shares coming from that VM, it far exceeds 30GB.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
I have not. I'm wondering if its just how Windows 10 is rounding up the file sizes when viewing the Samba shares. For instance a folder that is 450MB shows as like 15GB. This folder has a ton of very small <1mb files. If I putty into Ubuntu directly and run df -h, it shows I'm at about 62% of my 30GB virtual disk. If I check the Size on Disk for my entire Samaba shares coming from that VM, it far exceeds 30GB.

Regarding samba shares, there's a default 1mb allocation roundup size parameter. It's disabled in 11.3, but will be default in any samba instance that isn't explicitly configured differently.

HoneyBadger

actually does care