Threadripper 1920x and general noob questions

anonyj

Cadet
I'm new to FreeNAS, read most of the documentation, but still confused when it comes to selecting the right hardware. I have stumbled upon an offer for a
- AMD Threadripper 1920x
- Asrock X399 Taichi Socket TR4

I suppose these are good for a FreeNAS build for domestic usage, but I'd really like an opinion from the expert for the compatibility of these items.

I was wondering too if I needed a gpu to run this build, since the threadripper doesn't have integrated graphics.
Also, I'd really like to use ECC ram for this build, but only if truly compatible - there is this module Kingston Ktd-pe424e (https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-16-GB-DDR4-2400-MHz-ECC-Module/dp/B071S24N83/) that seems nice, but it doesn't appear in the list of the officially supported ram by the mobo (you can find it here). Is it supported? If not, which ram module should I go for that preferibly is available in Europe? Also, do you recommend ECC over NON-ECC?

I wanted my nas to be not more than 8 disk in size, all SATA. Are there any particular problems in choosing SATA over SAS? There are 8 sata ports on the mobo, so there shouldn't be any problem, right?

Sorry if I sound panicked, but the world of server hardware is kind of different from the consumer one I was used to. Thank you in advance.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
- AMD Threadripper 1920x
- Asrock X399 Taichi Socket TR4
One of the nice things about FreeNAS is that it doesn't need the latest components. You could go with something a generation or two older and save some cash.
I know that hardware availability in Europe is not what it is in the US, but you might look at picking up a used server board similar to this one:

It comes with all the key components including memory and a CPU, and you might be able to find an even better price with a little searching

Hey, just a few quick thoughts: