RSync Task Issues

William Bravin

Contributor
Hello all

I'm new to rsync . I have 2 Freenas server. Server A is my primary server and server B my backup. In both servers i have installed freenas 11.2 u5.
On Server A
I have activated rsync on both servers and added 2 rsync modules
i built 2 simple tasks to "push" data from server A to Server B

On server B
I did the same as above with the exception that the tasks "pull"

in 2 occasions i ran the tasks (push and pull) manually and they worked I could see in the "display system Process" (DSP) Rsync running and on the dashboard i see the network traffic speed rising.

On sunday i wanted to run the tasks again in 2 occasions manually, freenas tells me the task is running but no task is running in dsp. and no network activity.

On Monday I try again and this time i run both tasks at the same time (both push and pull) and there is activity.

Only this time instead of adding data to server b and updating it it deleted all data on server B

I immediately copy and pasted (manually )all data from server a to B..

what did i do wrong?

Thank you

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
You probably don't need both sides to run the jobs, just push from one or pull from the other.

Perhaps that's already enough to try and see if it goes more like you expect.

Remember that rsync will be incremental, so subsequent runs after the first completed one will be short (depending on the changed data between the runs).

William Bravin

Contributor
Hello all

I progressed with building an rsync task I have 4 datasets *Documents movies, music. and tv shows) for each dataset i have a task. All datasets have the same owner (me) as UID wbravin group wheel all with basic and full control. all work perfectly on time with the exception of my rsynck task for the tv shows. Every time i run it it fails.

I tried to change ownership of the dataset to root (because i log on to freenas as such) to no avail.