Restore and pool recovery

MGB-James

Dabbler
Hi,
I built an 8-disk system about 4 years ago on FreeNAS 9.X. About 2 months ago my motherboard died. I don't know what caused it (the system was on an UPS) and I don't have the smarts to know if my pools were also damaged. I installed a new motherboard and CPU and powered it up without any drives attached. It got as far as "Beginning ZFS volume imports". It told me that "no such pool exists" and to "destroy and re-create the pool from a backup source"
Then it said "Loading kernel modules:" and hanged there.
I tried it again with the disks attached and got the same exact results.
As I never got around to backing up my system, my prime concern is how to go forward with utmost care given towards preserving the data on the drives. I'm going to need some serious hand-holding as I am not good at this sort of thing. I can provide a picture of the screen where it hangs, as well as all my system info. Is the best path forward a clean install of the latest version of FreeNAS? If so, can someone walk me through recovering the drives as pools on a new install?

Thanks in advance,
V/R
James
FreeNAS Screen Capture.jpg
J.

danb35

Hall of Famer

blueether

Patron
As this wasn't a clean shutdown the pool maynot import from the GUI, this is not a problem so don't panic

danb35

Hall of Famer

blueether

Patron
I'll admit that I'm probably wrong, but I was of the understanding that a new install with non-exported pool may need the f flag?

danb35

Hall of Famer
Ah, yes, that's possible--not so much as a result of a dirty shutdown, but as a matter of being imported into a "new" system. I'd like to think the middleware would handle that automatically, but there's a lot of stuff I'd like to think it'd handle on its own that it doesn't.

MGB-James

Dabbler
Sooo, at the risk of sounding totally incompetent, how do I import a non-exported pool via shell commands?