Resilio Sync Group Permissions

mruby

Dabbler
I've got Resilio Sync plugin installed, and i've added 2 mount points (both from different datasets). Getting the permissions right on freenas is frustrating beyond anything I can explain. I've been using freenas for like 8 years now and still want to break something every time I go to do something like this. Maybe i'm just an idiot, who knows. In any case, i've spent about 4 hours trying to get this working, and i'm losing my mind, hoping someone can help.

My datasets are used in windows, mac, and linux environments. I have smb shares setup and working fine. I have a specific user that I authenticate the shares with, that owns these datasets. The datasets belong to the wheel group (guid 0).

Now... in the resilio sync jail /mnt directory:
drwxrwxr-x+ 4 rslsync wheel 5 May 19 22:00 Media-Movies-Sync/
drwxrwxr-x+ 5 rslsync wheel 7 May 19 21:06 Sync/

I can now in the resilio sync UI go and add a new folder to either of these datasets in the /mnt (because I manually changed the owner to be rslsync user)
if I move into the Media-Movies-Sync dir for example I have:
drwxrwxr-x+ 3 1000 wheel 3 May 19 21:16 madefrommac/
drwxrwxr-x+ 4 rslsync wheel 5 May 19 22:00 madefromsync/

you can see that the madefrommac dir is owned by a user with uid 1000 and was created from my mac on the smb share. The madefromsync dir was created through the resilio sync dashboard. These both belong to the wheel group. The user rslsync belongs to this group.
# id rslsync
uid=817(rslsync) gid=817(rslsync) groups=817(rslsync),0(wheel)

Despite this... no matter what I try, resilio syn tells me it does not have write permisisons to the madefrommac directory and I cannot sync to it. WHY????

I've followed https://www.ixsystems.com/community...plugins-write-permissions-to-your-data.27273/