Reset BMC Password

SecureMyBits

Cadet
Hi all,

Hi all. I have a used Gigabyte MD70-HB0 motherboard. Unfortunately I am unable to login to the BMC. When prompted for a username and password I have tried the default admin / password with no success.

Is there any way the reset this back to default with local access / jumpers?

Any info would be grateful as the Gigabyte manual only mentions resetting to factory default once logged into the BMC.

Regards.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
I think I had a similar problem a few years ago.

As far as memory serves me, this was the solution I used:
  1. Connect to the host via SSH (from the menu select Shell if you're at the physical console)
  2. Issue the following command: ipmitool user list.
  3. Note the ID of the IPMI admin user.
  4. Change the password with the following command: ipmitool user set password.
Best of luck with it.

Ubermik

Cadet
Hiya, I know this is an old thread but hopefully someone can help

I am a total novice to this IPMI stuff, literally NEVER used it before ever and have a similar problem

I have seen several "solutions" that are identical to this, but I feel they might be written to people who are actually used to using things like IPMI and SSH

When I try to SSH into the machine (I was using putty) I dont get a menu, it just asks for the username and password that I dont have to begin with

So I am guessing that I am missing something here but havent a clue what

By "physical console" do you mean I need to be doing it from the machine with the IMPI? If so would I need both the IPMI and a normal network port simultaneously connected to the same network or does it connect to the BMC from the OS side of the network layers?

I am hoping its just some facepalm level of stupidity on my part that I just cant see lol :)

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
When I try to SSH into the machine (I was using putty) I dont get a menu, it just asks for the username and password that I dont have to begin with