Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Rescue operation

Status
Not open for further replies.

godfader

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
12
Hi all, I need a little help. My FreeNAS just died. the board, a c2550d4i wont post. it powers for about 5 seconds and then it shuts down.
Tried to clear CMOS, removed the fans, nothing helped. Contacted the support, waiting for a reply.
Now, I'm looking for alternatives and I'm thinking on a Supermicro X10SL7-F-O and a I3-4130T for a replacement.
Does anyone know if i swap the USB boot drive and connect the HDDs I can recover my datastore? thanks
 
Last edited by a moderator:

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
2,479
Hi all, I need a little help. My freenas just died. the board, a c2550d4i wont post. it powers for about 5 seconds and then it shuts down.
Tried to clear cmos, removed the fans, nothing helped. Contacted the support, waiting for a reply.
Now, im looking for alternatives and Im thinking on a supermicro X10SL7-F-O and a I3-4130T for a replacement.
Does anyone know if i swap the usb boot drive and connect the hdd´s i can recover my datastore? thanks
I don't like your proc choice, do some more research...
The pool or volume will be importable in it's entirety once your new
hardware is able to boot the OS.
 

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
2,479
There are posts in here discussing this, but in a nutshell,
the "green friendly" procs are limited to slower speeds to
use less power and produce less heat. The problem is as
a slower worker, it works for a longer period before
returning to a state of idle. The faster proc you have, the
sooner it get to job done and returns to idle conditions.
With all modern Intel procs, idle speed is where the savings
come from. For the most part the green marketing bs is just
that. BS
 

Dice

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,205

Dice

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,205
On the other hand, have you tried a different PSU? (do that with the motherboard only - not including the drives etc on the first attempts)
 

godfader

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
12
No, I don´t have a spare. But it seems to be a bug with the board because after i try the first time, to try to power again I need to remove the power cable and connect again. If I don´t the power button wont work. on the IPMI of the board the voltage seems ok
 

Dice

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,205
No, I don´t have a spare. But it seems to be a bug with the board because after i try the first time, to try to power again I need to remove the power cable and connect again. If I don´t the power button wont work. on the IPMI of the board the voltage seems ok
that sounds awfully familiar.
anyways, if the motherboard is toast and you have a config file backup there is no problems ahead.
 

godfader

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
12
I don´t have a backup. I have the boot disk only (2 usb disks) Can I not move the usb and boot from the new one? like a HDD?
 

Evi Vanoost

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
91
Yes, you can just plug in the same hardware in another board and given it is semi-compatible (same ABI) it will work.

The only problem would be if your failing board/power supply toasted your drives as well. You won't know until you do plug them in though but then you'll need your backup (or understand the necessity of proper backup)
 

godfader

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
12
i know the necessity but stupid me forgot to make a recent one. But if i connect my usb boot disk on the new board (different model) it should work right?
 

CraigD

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2016
Messages
341
Im thinking on a supermicro X10SL7-F-O and a I3-4130T for a replacement.
I use and love this Supermicro board, no need to get a power saving chip, most CPUs idle at the same low wattage and draw more power when needed

can recover my datastore? thanks
Hope your drive are undamaged

Have Fun
 

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
2,479
i know the necessity but stupid me forgot to make a recent one. But if i connect my usb boot disk on the new board (different model) it should work right?
Chances are that it will work, the usb drive will need to be set up on the new board to boot first though.
 

Evi Vanoost

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
91
I haven't had issues so far as long as the CPU is of similar architecture. You may have to reconfig the network or some other things.
 

Stux

Wizened Sage
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
4,163
There are posts in here discussing this, but in a nutshell,
the "green friendly" procs are limited to slower speeds to
use less power and produce less heat. The problem is as
a slower worker, it works for a longer period before
returning to a state of idle. The faster proc you have, the
sooner it get to job done and returns to idle conditions.
With all modern Intel procs, idle speed is where the savings
come from. For the most part the green marketing bs is just
that. BS
The one exception is in a thermally constrained environment. That should be the only reason to go with the gimped processor.

Ps: if you're looking for a new mobo/CPU, look into skylake.
 

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
2,479
The one exception is in a thermally constrained environment. That should be the only reason to go with the gimped processor.
That started out politically correct... ROTFL
 

Dice

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,205
I laughed so hard :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top