Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.
RAM recommendations for Supermicro X10 LGA1150 motherboards

RAM recommendations for Supermicro X10 LGA1150 motherboards

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,076
Is there a big difference in power consumption between 1.5 V and 1.35 V modules? Let's assume I want two 8 GB modules.
Not really. It's small in a system with several spinning disks.
 

wreedps

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
225
I like Crucial. I don't buy Kingston ram. I do use their USB sticks though.
 

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
3,710
No problem, see my signature... :)
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2015
Messages
1
Thank you for your diligence putting this information together. I'm a long time lurker and who's just now moving into the "buy" phase and I found the myriad discussions on RAM to be one of the most intimidating aspects of the project so I was quite relieved to learn there was a brand-name consumer kit with a good reputation that was easily attainable.

For those that are interested the CT2KIT102472BD160B kit is down to $104 on Amazon which is the lowest I've seen it since I started paying attention and shopping around.
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,076
Good news everyone!

Supermicro has expanded the QVLs on all the popular Server models! Details in OP, but here's a summary:

  • All boards are validated for a new Hynix DIMM
  • X10SLL-F/X10SLM-F and variants (not to be confused with X10SLL+-F/X10SLM+-F/X10SLH-F!) are now also validated for Micron/Crucial DIMMs!
  • The above boards are now also validated with a new Ultra-Low Profile part from Hynix and a mysterious Innodisk part.
I also took the opportunity to update a few other sections.
 

trumee

Newbie
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
63
My motherboard X10SL7-F already is populated with 16 GB (2x8) of Kingston KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G CL9 1.5V. I want to add 16GB more to it. What ram should i go with?
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,076
My motherboard X10SL7-F already is populated with 16 GB (2x8) of Kingston KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G CL9 1.5V. I want to add 16GB more to it. What ram should i go with?
From the OP:

In e-mail conversations with affected forum members, Kingston stated that using two Kingston DIMMs in the second pair of slots along with two of the Supermicro-verified Hynix DIMMs in the first pair of slots allowed for 32GB to be used.
I do not recommend this solution for anyone and am frankly surprised Kingston suggested it. However, those who have tried it say it works. If you are on a tight budget, currently own 16GB of Kingston RAM and would like to step up to 32GB, consider this solution.
 

Z300M

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
847
Kingston's suggested solution seems to have worked for me for many months. Why are you recommending against it?
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,837
Kingston's suggested solution seems to have worked for me for many months. Why are you recommending against it?
Because there's lots of user rage around here about how Kingston handled this, and how they maybe screwed people over in some cases. We had some of the affected modules here but I just crammed them into some X9 boxes and went on to wrestle with more annoying Real Problems(tm) elsewhere in the world. I agree that it was handled poorly, but quite frankly I've been doing this long enough that it rates only about a two on a scale of one-to-ten on my rage-o-meter.
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,076
Kingston's suggested solution seems to have worked for me for many months. Why are you recommending against it?
Mostly because it's hacky and nobody really guarantees that it'll work.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,837
Mostly because it's hacky and nobody really guarantees that it'll work.
It doesn't seem particularly hacky. We know that there's some problem related to the bus length and timing. This isn't really all that different from other situations where populating DIMM modules in slots further away require memory speeds to be reduced; it's basically just turning that on its end.

Nobody really guarantees that any memory configuration will work under all circumstances. When you get the Supermicro list, for example, all it really means is that it's been tried and tested and - hopefully - that someone actually looked at it to see that things weren't actually running on the bleeding edge of fail.
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,076
It doesn't seem particularly hacky. We know that there's some problem related to the bus length and timing. This isn't really all that different from other situations where populating DIMM modules in slots further away require memory speeds to be reduced; it's basically just turning that on its end.

Nobody really guarantees that any memory configuration will work under all circumstances. When you get the Supermicro list, for example, all it really means is that it's been tried and tested and - hopefully - that someone actually looked at it to see that things weren't actually running on the bleeding edge of fail.
Sure, but I don't want to be the guy who gets the blame if it doesn't work.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,837
I'm not demanding that anyone suggest Kingston. I'm just being realistic here. This **** happens to everyone sooner or later.
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,076
I'm not demanding that anyone suggest Kingston. I'm just being realistic here. This **** happens to everyone sooner or later.
Well, my thoughts on the matter are more or less the following:
  • Kingston lost a lot of credibility with this story (which was probably an honest mistake and bureaucratic corner-cutting) and the V300 SSD story (which amounts to bait-and-switch). Had it been just the first debacle, it wouldn't have bothered me nearly as much.
  • I don't feel comfortable suggesting Kingston RAM for X10 boards, because it's quite likely that there's still a lot of bad stuff in stock. Assuming Kingston's current QVL is accurate
  • The Hynix + Kingston solution sounds like it might be operating rather close to the edge of what is acceptable, so sticking to a different brand seems to be the better choice.
 

Z300M

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
847
Well, my thoughts on the matter are more or less the following:
  • Kingston lost a lot of credibility with this story (which was probably an honest mistake and bureaucratic corner-cutting) and the V300 SSD story (which amounts to bait-and-switch). Had it been just the first debacle, it wouldn't have bothered me nearly as much.
  • I don't feel comfortable suggesting Kingston RAM for X10 boards, because it's quite likely that there's still a lot of bad stuff in stock. Assuming Kingston's current QVL is accurate
  • The Hynix + Kingston solution sounds like it might be operating rather close to the edge of what is acceptable, so sticking to a different brand seems to be the better choice.
I certainly wasn't recommending Kingston -- and in fact the /EF modules which they suggested relegating to the second pair of slots and using Hynix in the first pair of slots were discontinued long ago.

But are you suggesting that if anyone already has two of the 8GB /EF modules and wants 32GB of RAM, they should start over with 32GB of modules that are on Supermicro's QVL and sell off, or find another use for, the Kingston modules?
 

Z300M

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
847
I see at memoryamerica.com that the recommended Hynix and Samsung 8GB modules are now even cheaper than when I bought my Hynix modules, which were in turn a little cheaper than the "dodgy" Kingston ones I bought originally.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,837
I certainly wasn't recommending Kingston -- and in fact the /EF modules which they suggested relegating to the second pair of slots and using Hynix in the first pair of slots were discontinued long ago.

But are you suggesting that if anyone already has two of the 8GB /EF modules and wants 32GB of RAM, they should start over with 32GB of modules that are on Supermicro's QVL and sell off, or find another use for, the Kingston modules?
Naw. That's just excessively paranoid. No need to waste money. I'd suggest you try the Kingston-suggested remediation. Then go run a thorough memtest on your machine. If it works, it works. Move on with your life. If it doesn't work, then you're no worse off than if you had just bought four new modules to begin with. Get two more, replace the Kingstons, and then find something else to do with those.
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,076
Ericloewe updated RAM recommendations for Supermicro X10 LGA1150 motherboards with a new update entry:

Proper migration completed

I finally completed a proper migration of this document to the Resources section. The original changelog follows below:

Update 2014-09-04 - Clarified Kingston's e-mail conversation and their current claims of compatibility (Special thanks to Z300M for the info!) and clarified only DDR3 Intel processors are affected by the 8GB UDIMM limitation.
Update 2 2014-09-04 - Clarified that Supermicro never listed Kingstom RAM as compatible (Special thanks to jgreco for the reminder and...
Read the rest of this update entry...
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
6
Just a quick report here since I have the ITX mobo of this family, H81 based X10SLV, I know it's not a server chipset but it worked flawlessly with a Kingston HyperX SODIMM kit, HX316LS9IBK2/16, 16GB DDR3L at 1.5V, Micron 5DE77D9QBJ chips.
 
Top