Problem with Windows File Sharing

markgca

Dabbler
im new to FreeNAS, and dont know much about FreeBSD.
watched a bunch of youtube videos, watched the ixsystems videos, followed them to the letter. but i cant get it to work sharing files. everything else about the GUI and the legacy panel seems to work however.

Problem; i can create shares, but i dont see them and cant link to them on my windows machine. Im running 5 nas's; 3 netgear, 1 qnap, and now a freenas, and everything else shows up in the network tab. i know on freenas i have to map a drive, but when i try it says invalid login. note i am NOT using guest access.

FreeNAS installed fine, all the functions seem to work fine. i can and have experimented around with it for a week now, and everything seems to work including jails/vms, installed a antivirus plugin, etc. But i just cant get any share to work. which is the entire point of a nas..

followed the ixsystems 201 video to the letter, and nothing. Just keep getting access denied when i try to link.
tried resetting freenas and starting over, 3 times, again following either the youtube tutorials or the ixsystems tutorials; nothing changes. i did this just in case my changing other options and playing with vms/jails might have interfered with the share function (i didnt even try the shares for a while since i was trying to learn the options in the server itself, and rather focused on the vms/jails/other options).

tried smbstatus -l and it shows nothing running, so at least that narrows it down i guess, but im at a loss at what to do at this point. i did enable, and start, the smb function.

system:
FreeNAS-11.2
Supermicro X10DRL-I-B, Xeon E-5-2620 v4, 32GB ECC DDR4
Boot: 2x 250GB WD SSD
Pool: Seagate Exos 7x16TB RAIDZ3
LSI 9305-16i
Corsair RM650

any help is appreciated. this is supposed to replace all three of the netgear nas's that are getting old, but until i can copy over some data its just an expensive boat anchor.

thanks,

mark

markgca

Dabbler