SOLVED Pool status unknown after faulty drive(s)

tc9999

Dabbler
Hi,

earlier this week I got a warning that my pool status was degraded. One drive showed as unavailable and gave the gptid but I could not match it to a serial number of my drives. The next day I checked again and now it said one drive was unavailable and one was faulted.

I have 7 hdds but both glabel status and a script I found in this forum only showed 4 drives with their gptid/serial:

Screen Shot 2020-10-09 at 10.49.09 PM.png

Since I couldn't figure out which of the 3 remaining drives are bad, I turned off the server. Today I wanted to try and figure it out again, but now after turning it back on again it says pool status unknown and only lists 2 drives:

Screen Shot 2020-10-15 at 10.54.20 PM.png

zpool import shows this:

Screen Shot 2020-10-15 at 10.54.35 PM.png

Any idea what's wrong? I'm a complete noob when it comes to freenas.

Thanks!

tc9999

Dabbler
Also, I forgot to mention that I did remove 1 drive I assumed to be faulty (da0), I don't know if that was a mistake or not but I reconnected it and still same issue.

tc9999

Dabbler
I'm not able to edit my post, but here are the system specs, hoping someone can help:

Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1246 v3 @ 3.50GHz
Supermicro X10SL7-F
32GB RAM
7 WD Red 6 TB
FreeNAS-11.2-U5

Thanks

JaimieV

Guru
The system is correct when it's declaring that "one or more devices are missing" - it cannot see enough of the drives of your Pool1. They're not showing up in FreeBSD, so naturally ZFS can't see them.

How are they physically connected? I see the motherboard has a bunch of SATA ports, so if you're using those and all was well you should be able to see all the drives in the BIOS. Through a SATA/SAS card? Seems like it may have come loose/died. Are they all spinning up? Cables not worked their way loose?

If you get to see the drives in the BIOS (and/or addin card BIOS), we'll move forward to further troubleshooting.

tc9999

Dabbler