Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Please do not run FreeNAS in production as a Virtual Machine!

Status
Not open for further replies.

9C1 Newbee

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
482
Thanks
47
 

Fraoch

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
394
Thanks
23
Bonus points to anyone who can identify what movie that's from.:D

The Running Man
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,025
Thanks
3,880
Honestly I don't like virtualization because it reduces the number of blinky lights - the real reason I got into computers.
The real reason I wanted hot-swap bays. There's something hypnotic about 6 disks scrubbing...
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,025
Thanks
3,880
Pffft... Like there's any other reason home users have hotswap bays!
In terms of bucks per lumen, building servers just to add backplanes with LEDs is up there with "repurposing 4k monitor as a soft light source" in the ludicrous band.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
54
Thanks
0
I have been reading around on how-to run freenas in a VM. I was wondering if someone could create a machine in the VA marketplace for us noobs to use? step by step guides with pictures help too
 

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
4,163
Thanks
625
I have been reading around on how-to run freenas in a VM. I was wondering if someone could create a machine in the VA marketplace for us noobs to use? step by step guides with pictures help too
The entire reason behind this thread and the thread lining out the proper way to handle FreeNAS as a VM are because noobs SHOULD NOT be doing this. Period. Please read the op again.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
54
Thanks
0
the thread on the topic is locked @ https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...ide-to-not-completely-losing-your-data.12714/ , so i am posting here.

I built a rather monsterous system. If I could divert 1 core+ht from my xeon 1230v3 and 8gb of ram from my 32gb ecc total to say a windows server r2 setup via esxi 5.5u2, and then notu touch it, that is all i want to do. I would run freenas off a usb stick and exsi and win server off say a intel 730 ssd.
 

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,862
Thanks
488
The entire reason behind this thread and the thread lining out the proper way to handle FreeNAS as a VM are because noobs SHOULD NOT be doing this. Period. Please read the op again.
My guess is that the OVA suggestion was as a test VM with a handful of ~10 GB virtual disks attached, not a prod machine with an HBA passed through to it.

It would be nice to be able to download an OVA. The time to create all the virtual disks is longer than the system install via the mounted ISO. :)
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2014
Messages
44
Thanks
3
the thread on the topic is locked @ https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...ide-to-not-completely-losing-your-data.12714/ , so i am posting here.

I built a rather monsterous system. If I could divert 1 core+ht from my xeon 1230v3 and 8gb of ram from my 32gb ecc total to say a windows server r2 setup via esxi 5.5u2, and then notu touch it, that is all i want to do. I would run freenas off a usb stick and exsi and win server off say a intel 730 ssd.
You can run Virtualbox VMs in a jail on bare metal FreeNAS and use spare resources that way. It comes with essentially none of the drawbacks of virtualizing FreeNAS itself.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,781
Thanks
3,036
eventually, hopefully freenas will iron out the bugs with esxi and hyper-v
There are no "bugs" with ESXi. It works swimmingly well. The problem is that most new users have absolutely no idea how to do it correctly, and if you do it incorrectly, then you are at significant risk of catastrophic data loss.

1) You can use known-good server-grade hardware with VT-d and the magic formula I've previously provided. This is closest to what users seem to hope for, but it's going to be all tears when you need to reinstall ESXi and it helpfully formats all your disks as datastores.

2) You can provide properly redundant datastores (not RAID0!) to reduce the chances of hypervisor I/O hangs and then build normal virtual disks on top. Note that you have to ALSO provide redundancy at the FreeNAS level for ZFS to be able to correct bitrot issues, otherwise more sadness. Almost no one in these forums is interested in this, because it uses up LOTS of disk space, but it DOES work.

3) You can do pretty much any other dumbcrap thing you'd like to and it will work right up to the point where something you failed to anticipate happens and (in the worst case) eats your data. That includes the obvious variation on #1) that involves substituting RDM for VT-d, or the obvious variation on #2) that involves using nonredundant ESXi datastores.

The bug isn't in FreeNAS or in ESXi. It is in the user's head, because at the end of the day the users always want cheaper, faster, and bigger, and will cut corners to get there. Virtualization allows this but when your system commits seppuku on you with your poorly thought out virtualization strategy, the complexity of recovery is going to be beyond what you'll get helpwise in the forum, if recovery is even possible.

So I am now officially tired of explaining this and people are warned against begging for virtualization help in this thread.

You can run Virtualbox VMs in a jail on bare metal FreeNAS and use spare resources that way. It comes with essentially none of the drawbacks of virtualizing FreeNAS itself.
This, however, is the single most helpful response in recent days. I heartily endorse this as a third relatively safe solution for resource sharing. I am also hoping that we see bhyve support in FreeNAS 10. ;-)
 

anodos

Belly-button Lint Extraordinaire
iXsystems
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
5,416
Thanks
1,488
This, however, is the single most helpful response in recent days. I heartily endorse this as a third relatively safe solution for resource sharing. I am also hoping that we see bhyve support in FreeNAS 10. ;-)
I'm looking forward to when bhyve will support Windows guests. Virtualbox jails always felt somewhat janky. :)
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
54
Thanks
0
As long as there is a guide that I can follow, I am good. Built my whole new box using your hardware recc. guide. Works like a charm. Wanted a VM server with win2k12r2 to run my accounting software on - if I can do that in a jail, I am happy.
 

9C1 Newbee

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
482
Thanks
47
I like where this is going.
 

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
4,163
Thanks
625
As long as there is a guide that I can follow, I am good. Built my whole new box using your hardware recc. guide. Works like a charm. Wanted a VM server with win2k12r2 to run my accounting software on - if I can do that in a jail, I am happy.
Blindly following a guide WILL bite you in the ass one day.

You need to fully understand what it is you are doing to even attempt to build FreeNAS out in a virtualized environment.
 

Tywin

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Sep 19, 2014
Messages
163
Thanks
35
Blindly following a guide WILL bite you in the ass one day.

You need to fully understand what it is you are doing to even attempt to build FreeNAS out in a virtualized environment.
This +1. The point we are trying to make is that while there may be a guide for setting it up, there is not a guide for resolving problems that may crop up later. Adding a hypervisor squares the solution space. While it is definitely navigable, you (@messerchmidt, not @pirateghost) must have the tools to find your way back to a working setup without data loss.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top