Noob rescue!

Status
Not open for further replies.

LLeo

Dabbler
I have been running Freenas for probably 2 months or so and have posted AND received excellent information on the Plex media Server for mapping folders. I started with FN9.3, skipped Corral and went directly to the 9.11 Stable upgrade. My network consists of Win10 Pro accessing the server and up until this weekend was successfully sharing the files to and fro without a problem. In fact, everything was going really well until this weekend dragging and dropping files and the two "systems" were friendly. This weekend I was intent on configuring the HTTPS with the internal certificate process according to the ix systems video because Firefox (my default browser) didn't "trust" the FN server and at completion and it was a pain because the exception wouldn't stick between sessions. So I am determined to "learn" because CLI processes are foreign; I came onboard AFTER the DOS/CLI era so command line navigation is new to me. I'm GUI! But I love to learn! Probably from my mistakes this time!

One mistake I DID make in this process was to use the Windows 10 feature of redirecting folders and their contents to another location--in this case I thought it was bright idea to use Freenas to house those folders instead of in the Windows traditional folder, i.e., Documents, Pictures, Video & Music. I also added a "Downloads" folder. ( I never once claimed impeccable logic!) So if I saved a Windows file into "Documents," it was really residing in the "Documents" data set on FN. And for the past few weeks, I was proud of myself! Everything was easily accessible back and forth with Windows permissions and such. Until this weekend. I found out duplication of data is superior to re-direction of data!