new system for use in schools

damienginty

Dabbler
Hi All

I'm a network manager that is ore accustom to working within a windows environment. We have a requirement to increase our storage provision, however additional nimble boxes are prohibitively expensive. I have been looking at other options that could operate in a windows environment running Hyper-V failover cluster. Our existing storage does not have the capacity or throughput to the network to cope with current demand.

I was looking to repurpose a Dell PowerEdge R620 that was previously used as a virtual host - its specs are 384GB Ram and duel Xeon e52620. The server has 4 x 10 GBE NICS and a HBA. in addition, i am debating repurposing 3 dell PowerVault MD1220 disk shelves with 24 x 600gb 10k SAS drives.

I’ve installed Freenas on the server and configured 2 on-board SATA drives in a mirror for the system. In addition to that i have created a pool consisting of 12 x z2 vdevs consisting of 6 x 600gb SAS drives and added 2 x 250gb ssd for L2ARC and 4 x250gb ssd as a mirror for the LOG. the network cards are configured for MPIO and the server is setup for iSCSI.

I have one windows server connected via iSCSI and all appears to work "okay ish" until we start to move data around. After 100gb or so, the copying halts and the server hangs. It eventually recovers but i cannot fathom out as to why this keeps happening.

Any help or advice would most welcom....

Sincerely

Attachments

• freenas CPU.jpg
    freenas CPU.jpg
    208.3 KB · Views: 446
  • pool.jpg
    pool.jpg
    118.8 KB · Views: 405
  • NICS.jpg
    NICS.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 346

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Hi Damien (if I can presume the name)

There's going to be a bit to unpack here, so bear with me.