New PLEX Server System Build

jimmyjam

Cadet
Hi All, this is my first time posting a thread here, though I've been reading through a number of topic threads and blog posts for a few weeks now. I'm looking to put together my first FreeNAS system specifically for the purpose of running PLEX, and looking to see if a few members of the community here could look over the HW options I've selected and let me know if I'm missing anything before I buying things:

Case: IN WIN IW-MS04 (includes PSU)

Board: ASRock Rack C246 WSI

CPU: Intel Xeon E-2176G (6C/12T/80W)

CPU Cooler: Dynatron T497 (Mostly because I know if fits on this board w/o any mechanical interference)

RAM: 2x Innodisk M4C0-AGS1MCSJ (DDR4 2400 ECC UDIMM)

OS Drive: Western Digital SDAPMUW-128G (M.2 NVMe 2242 128GB)

The case I already have (the only thing I'm re-purposing from an old NAS system) so all-in-all this config will run me about $760 before taxes. You will of course note the auspicious absence of any storage drives, and this is because I would definitely appreciate some guidance on this front. I've only got four drive bays, and so I'd like to go with 4x 12TB or 14TB using a RAID-Z config. I've thought about moving to a larger case to support more drives, but I need to small footprint.

I have read a decent amount online about people buying the WD easystores and shucking them, but it looks like these have mostly transitioned from the Red NAS to white labeled HDDs, and while I like the price point, I've not been able to find any reliability data on those anywhere. I really like the WD Ultrastar DC HC500 and WD Gold options, especially with the HelioSeal tech to minimize power consumption (and subsequently heat).